Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Interview with Rami Hamadi

Football Palestine sits down with Palestine's #1 to discuss his journey in football and what comes next for the Palestine national football team.

Hello everyone and welcome to another edition of Football Palestine Extra Special Edition because today we have national team goalkeeper Rami Hamadi with us. As always if you're a premium subscriber you will see this video in its entirety. If you aren't, now would be probably a good time to upgrade to a premium subscription. Just a point of procedure, this conversation is going to be in Arabic and as always if you don't understand what we're saying we have the full transcript in English below this video so let's get started!

Football Palestine: Rami, how are you?

Rami Hamadi: Alhamdulillah, I'm good, how are you Bassil?

FP: It's a great honor to be with you on Football Palestine. First, I must congratulate you because you played your 50th match with the team. During this journey, the first match you played was in 2017. 50 international matches, 26 clean sheets, and only 39 matches you scored. But let's start from the beginning. The last match you played against Bangladesh, you won 1-0. Let's start from the beginning.

I will ask you a question Did you have a goal when you were young to be a goalkeeper? Or did you start playing in an attack center and you happened to be a goalkeeper?

RH: I used to play in the middle and as a right back To this day, when we play five-a-side or we play with the guys, I play in the middle. But I also had a love for goalkeepers. My brother Anas, as you know, was a goalkeeper. I used to watch him a lot, and I also watched Buffon's and Casillas’s generation. I also liked to play goalkeeper because you know, goalkeeping is a talent in the human body, you just have to develop it.

So I had a love for goalkeepers, and I still play to this day. I like to read games, I like to watch the game and I love to play in the gym I like to watch the game, I like to play in the middle and as a goalkeeper, this helps me a lot I loved to watch the game when I was young even in the neighborhood, I used to play on the asphalt it was very natural and I loved to do it and I broke my hand many times this is a proof of my love for this sport It's all about love.

FP: Of course. I also want to ask you, because you joined the team when you were young, you joined the Palestinian team when you were 18 years old, but you started as a goalkeeper. Tell me a little bit about your start, when did you know that you have a future in football?

RH: I was training with Shafa'a Amer in the school of karate. With many trainers, like Ahmed Abou Elfoul, Jamal Attari, Khaled Kababou, Abo Mansour, Ottam.

And also, from a young age, Abou Elbouchnaq, Khalil Shammah. All these people who always told me that I have a future, I should work for it. And from there, I was improving myself. I didn't have a goalkeeper. I was always working on my own, on the wall, and I would let the player shoot at me. Unfortunately, at that time, there was no future in the country. I took the step to advance in this field. Unfortunately, at that time, I had to go to a team or a football school I was in a Jewish team at the time.

To apply, I had to take the step and go to another camp to do the tests. At first, there was some opposition from the family. They found that education was better and all that. But my brother told me, I'll take you and we'll go. We'll do the tests and see what happens. So I went and I was accepted. After 15 minutes, the coach called me and said, you're going to join the team and you're going to continue the tests with the team, not with these people who were doing general tests. So you're going to join the team. and before the training camp we decide if you will continue with us or not.

So from that time, everything went well, I was accepted and I was registered in the team. My family told me that if I chose this field, I had to succeed, especially my mother's sentence to this day- she told me that if I wasn't going to be a great player or someone well-known and talented to just stay at home. She told me, “go- I'm your biggest supporter.”

She, my family, my brothers, they all stood by me and supported me a lot. And this helped me a lot, and gave me a big boost. And then, in the middle of the year, while I was in Netanya, and Khalil Shamma was talking to me. He told me that he had a friend from Ramallah who is running for Palestinian youth. He was looking for a goalkeeper. What do you think?

At first, I was scared because I was in a Jewish team. I didn't have any idea about what the Palestinian national team was. Because at that time, the awareness was not that there was a Palestinian national team in the 1948 area.

When I received this message and this phone call from this person, I told my family, they said, yes, go. On the contrary, I liked the idea, because before, Khalil told me that there is Ali Khatib playing in the area, so I also talked to Ali at the time. He said, yes, it's a very good thing, go, and all these things. and everything. So you know when you feel that you belong to a certain place, you feel that you can represent your country.

When I was young, my father used to explain to me that I will represent the country, I will represent the region of Palestine, this is our belief, our belief, these are our principles, so I encourage you to go. I was afraid that I would face problems in politics.

I went to the first training, then the second, then the third training without telling my team. It was time to travel. I was a champion in the UAE. I sat with the coach and told him, 1, 2, 3, that I have an election and I want to go to the election. I was going to vote and all that. At first, it was like a shock, but then he said, go and everything will be fine, don't worry. In the end, this election will benefit you in the future. I was very surprised by the answer. And I went.

And from there, my journey began, until I met Abul Abed, may God have mercy on him. My boss, Abul Abed Mamoun Dabdoub, I was a very young goalkeeper. This man helped me a lot in the beginning of my career. He also convinced me to come to Tulkarem after a year of playing in the first team when I was 17 years old. He used to come every morning to take me to Nablus. Tulkarem was not ready yet, we did morning training. He was a father, a friend, a teacher, a brother. I was always with him, with his family. I got involved with him because he has a lot of grace on me.

I am here today because of the people who supported me in my journey in the Palestinian league. Mr. Mohamed El Sabah, Abu Osama, who is also known as the flag bearer. These people helped me in the beginning. From there, I started my professional career. I started my professional career without any shortcomings.

From there, I started my Palestinian NT. My brother and my beloved brother, Abu Al-Abid, may God have mercy on him. And the captain, Abu Osama Al-Sabah. These are the people who pushed me at the beginning of my career. And apart from that, in the Abdul Nasser Barakat team, and also in the youth team, he believed in me and told me to continue. He was very busy with the issues of thought, and the mentality of the Palestinian player that he is developing. And he also had a role in establishing the generation that we have in the NT.

FP: How important was it for you to get that first team experience at 17, 18, 19 years old? You left, let's say, an academy that was affiliated to UEFA, affiliated to Europe. You left UEFA and went to a newly established league, but you were still a kid. You were one of the first players to make the jump to the WBPL at a young age (older established players had come before you). If you stayed in Netanya maybe you play in a European league, you play in European competitions. The decision you made was unknown. To play in a unknown league against grown men.

RH: Listen, the first thing I want to tell you is that I went to the first team was very strange to me. I told you, I didn't have enough awareness to play as a kid. I know I'm going through a senior team, so I reach the first team in the end. But I was expected in Netanya to spend two more years with the academy and then go to the first team.

So it was very strange to me that I came to the first team. I felt a great responsibility on me. And the team is aiming to make it to the top. People gave me this confidence when I was young. They gave me this responsibility when I was young. So, no matter how strange the feeling was, no matter how good the feeling was, it helped me that today I am a person who is responsible in a big way, even in my personal life, away from football. So, today it helped me to be in the stadium helping my teammates, and I know how to handle pressure to a great extent.

Today, I gained a lot of experience from sports in my younger years. I thank God for this. It was strange, but today I see how important it was. It helped me develop myself, my ideas, and my awareness of football. On the other hand, I left Europe and came here. I'm telling you, we were not aware of what the Palestinian election meant. But when the offer came, I want to say again that my grandfather, Abu Ahmed, he helped me make this decision.

He explained to me what our principles are, so we can be raised on them. So I put the election as my priority above anything else. When I was informed of this idea, and my boss told me about the importance of representing your country, your election, your country, and your national anthem, my dignity today at the election is number one. I have lived and provided for my team, and I have done many achievements with my team. My name is also big with my team. But the NT is something essential, it is something in my personality today. The Palestinian election is a pillar, and the pillar is the Palestinian NT.

The thing is built today, for me, it is a pillar. I don't know how people can see this, but for me, I see that the Palestinian NT is the priority and the basis for me. We have discovered and seen more of these things in the current circumstances. The importance of representing the national election and giving it this importance and priority is the basis. I was not wrong in this idea that the NT is the priority. I want to be a national figure and be a part of a place. And this place is the basis.

FP: Let's continue the idea that you didn't know that there was a Palestinian NT. I have had many players tell me this, that we didn't know, according to your opinion, according to your analysis of the subject, is this generation aware that there is something called the national team of Palestine and there is even a possibility that they play for it?

RH: True, and I don't want to tell you that I helped people, but I gave the idea to people like Aboudi Yassine, the goalkeeper who came to the Olympic Team. His family was very excited about the idea. I became a reference point for the people from inside the green line. There is a title now. Some of the players and the parents started to contact us and ask what we think. They contacted us from the Palestinian region, the Palestinian state, etc. What do you think about this?

When they ask me, I tell them straight away that the kid must be here. I'm not against anyone playing for the national team, especially our Palestinian community inside the Green Line, or any Palestinian in the world, wherever you may be, but especially the Palestinians, that you will feel the belonging that you are supposed to have.

You will feel the pride of being a Palestinian You will feel the appreciation of people Like you have to be in the right place and the place you are supposed to belong to This idea today, the awareness that exists in the inside I'm sorry to talk about its divisions, but this is our situation. In 1948, awareness has become greater. Since my time, people have been coming to the Olympic Team, to the youth teams, to the first team.

Today, awareness has become greater than ever. And this is a very good thing.

FP: Of course. Let's talk more about your journey in the Palestinian League. You played with Thaqafi Tulkarem from the start with the exception of one season spent at Al-Khader. Was your final season with Thaqafi your best one? Only 19 goals conceded? You broke the record for goals conceded in a season several times after that with Hilal Al-Quds and Shabab Al-Khalil.

But to put up those numbers and challenge for titles with a young team must have been special.

RH: Look, Tulkarem for me, I first of all respect all the teams, they still play the same role I played in but Tulkarem for me is home Tulkarem for me is the place that brought me to the field and especially the year you are talking about is one of the most important years in my life it is what made me jump in my life it is what made the other teams look at me a year before they directed me to Jerusalem the same year with the team we lost to, but I decided to stay in Tulkarem that year.

It was a very good decision in my opinion. It was a big competition with a team like Hilal Quds. We finished the season with players from the club and a few professional players from the clubs. It was a great year for me, one of the best years of my life. It helped me a lot to be the first goalkeeper in the region after that season. Then, I think it was time because the project of Tulkarem was to build a senior team after this year. To focus on the senior team and give the kids the chance to play. So there was a long project, so I had to take the next step. I had to see a team that needed a champion because I needed a champion. I liked the project, we had a good season, but the next season was less. Because there were some problems in the management. The project was to give my children a small club to establish in the future. This is a very good thing, I'm with you. But I wanted a championship.

After that season, they sent me to the Hilal Al-Quds. I played for three years in Jerusalem. It was one of the best three years. As you say, every other sport means something to me in life. Also, with Hilal Al-Quds, I got individual and group titles. This is very important for my career, because I am tired of taking the right efforts and championships. I'm doing my best and winning the titles. It was a great moment and I was more responsible. Because a big team like Hilal wants to win the titles. Every year you want to win and defend. Experiences help the future. I was patient.

After that, I took a step back, which was a catastrophic step for me. Unfortunately. I can't say I regret it, but the biggest mistake I made was to take a step back. I was in a hot spot. It was one of the biggest mistakes I've made in my life. Football is all about decisions and steps. For me, this was the biggest step I've ever taken in my career. First of all, I'd like to thank Sakhnin for all his respect. It's the only Arab team, not the only one, but the only one with many years in the top division. They are a thorn in everyone's side. and they have a very strong and passionate face the fans always have a message the fans represent the Arab world inside despite the violations and the restrictions but on the professional level, I didn't see this as a good place for me to be because I faced some problems there and unfortunately, there was no patience. Not only Rami, but many other players were there and they were saying the same thing. I was there. I was at a new stage. There was no support or patience to be patient with me. I was giving and throwing as I should. I respect things, especially that there was a big goalkeeper like Mahmoud Qandil. He is a history and a symbol of the club. This is a very big tribute to him. There was a competition between him and me, but in the end, the history and the symbol is what I take the most from him. He's a coach and a goalkeeper for 15 years.

The club, in general, started that season in a bad way, so I think it wasn't the right time to take my chance or the biggest support so I wanted to be the symbol or the flag that is present and continue with this system to improve the situation more, not a time to give someone new to adapt more and more because there is no time as you say, at the time it was tight and I didn't take it as I wanted and the thing was for me annoying and bad honestly That's what's bothering me and what's bad, honestly.

But thank God, you always learn something. I met my brother, my friend, my beloved, Atta Jabir, who is with us today in the election. That's when the idea of Atta being with the election started. We talked a lot about this. So there's always something to gain, there's always something to learn. And I learned a lot from this experience, honestly. If I had reached a certain stage in my life was over, but I realized that there was a long way to go. If I had to choose, I would choose to end my life. I respect and appreciate the team, but as a sportsman, this was the biggest mistake I've ever made.

After that, I joined Shabab Al-Khalil. I had a few shows, and they were competing for a title, and they were looking for it in Asia. I was able to break the record with the great captain, Abu Mustafa Al-Shaar. I also want to send my regards to Abu Mustafa, who was with me in 2015 in Korea and in the youth of the Gulf. He is a great person and a great father to all the goalkeepers. No one likes to be a witness. It was a great year. I enjoyed it with my family and friends. I didn't realize that they have such a big audience and a great audience. It was a positive year. I didn't see anything like it before. But after I came to Ashraf Al-Hakkiq, I felt better than the year I saw. I was patient, thank God.

Now I am in Jaber Al Mukabbir, another project, a year later. There are also personal things that have changed. I was planning to get married, but Khalil is very far away. Also, the project of Al Mukabbir, I have a project with him, he is building it, a very great project. I was with him on this. It is a place that is comfortable for me geographically I liked to take this step Jabal Al Mukabir is a great history He has a very long history in the Palestinian circle So I took this step and thank God I was successful in carrying out my role after many long years and I was about to be exiled My positions in the Palestinian circle were correct in my opinion, as I see it today and what I experienced in the stations I went to it was 100% correct, thank God.

FP: We have a group of questions from our followers and the first question, to continue this conversation you had many stations in your life, many clubs. During your career, especially if we talk about the numbers you achieved with the team, 50 international matches, 26 clean sheets, didn't you have the opportunity sign for a club outside of Palestine?

RH: First, let's talk about the clean sheet. I would like to thank Kabat for working with me, because he is a great coach. And the last 16 clinches I think were against Eyad Falali. Eyad Falali was my coach for 3 years in the Hilal Al-Quds. And now he's my third year with the team. We work a lot. Even the constant communication between us today is very important. Every day, even now, we are at home. Yesterday, we talked on the phone about what I should do, what plan I should follow, personal training.

Me and him, we go to the stadium and do personal training. He is a very hard-working person, and God gives him because he is a person who works hard and loves to improve himself. And he improves the goalkeepers that are with him, honestly.

My first opportunity to play abroad was with Ismaily in Egypt. They sent me the paper and the contract and everything was fine. I was welcomed in a big way because Ismail Darwish is a very good team in Egypt. I am a Palestinian, and I am not allowed to play the Egyptian role because I have an Israeli citizenship. I am from 1948, and you know that I have a Palestinian citizenship. I have a Palestinian citizenship, and I will play for Palestine. But I was surprised to hear that since I have it, it is not possible.

We have faced a lot of pressure and problems. We don't want to take this step and there is no room for it. I was working on this issue for a long time, and I discovered that the goalkeepers in Asia, and in most countries, especially in the Arab world, cannot be professional security guards. Only local goalkeepers. I was also surprised by this. It was a bit difficult. If you come to Asia in general, the awareness in Asia today is that I bring an attacker, not a guard. An attacker brings a goal, I want to use someone to bring a goal, not a guard to compete. This is a wrong idea in my opinion, because most of the big teams today are looking for a goalkeeper to build the team from behind to in front.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Football Palestine to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.